Laying The Foundation

As a child, I don’t remember receiving many toys as gifts, however I do remember receiving many books. Nancy Drew, Hardy Boys, Sweet Valley High and Enid Blyton books were some of the popular pages that got my attention. My aunt Merle was one person that ensured I got those books, and I looked forward to gifts from her. What was awesome about this was that she also read those books with me!

It was only in my adult years that I realized the value of the seed she planted in my life.  She provided the opportunity for me to be exposed to the beauty and power of words and in doing so, opened up my appetite for reading and learning.

Having said that, it’s no surprise that I love to read.  During my years at college, I read one book a month to give me another outlet besides textbook reading and once I graduated I continued with my reading routine.  At the start of graduate school, the non-school-related books were not as popular, but I read a lot for my classes and developed a greater love for biographies and non fiction books.  It was no surprise that I decided to write a thesis as opposed to taking a comprehensive exam at the end of my masters degree. After I graduated, my reading increased and I began giving myself reading challenges ( like read 5 books in one month etc.) Fun stuff!

My desire for knowledge was a significant factor in my decision to apply for graduate school.  After all, I had a strong reading foundation and it encouraged me to not settle for the minimal.  I also have a very strong support system in the form of my family.  My parents are my biggest supporters and they believe in me when I lack that belief in myself.  They always encourage me to reach higher and to dream big.

So, I am following my dream through doctoral school and I look forward to the day when I can say “it’s graduation time!”

I am grateful for a solid foundation and believe that everything that is built upon it will be strong.

“Education is the passport to the future, for tomorrow belongs to those who prepare for it today.”  

El-Hajj Malik El-Shabazz (Malcolm X)

 

Leave a Reply

