Campus Visit

Seeing something online is so different to seeing it in person. Since I knew I was about to make my move to the university, so I decided to do a campus visit.  I called ahead to schedule an official campus tour and as I decided to live on campus I wanted to have a tour of the housing complex as well.

I got the appointments set up, booked my fight, reserved a hotel room and looked up the nearest yoga studio.  The hotel was not too far from the campus, but not walking distance due to the roadway.  This is where the taxi service came in since I was too impatient to figure out the local bus route.  

Checked in to the hotel and as soon as I got to the room, put my bags down and sat by the window looking at the cars pass by, I had a full on anxiety attack and went into panic mode.  Holy crap, my life was about to change! I was about to leave a place that I had called home for the past 6 years, leave all the friends and connections I made and shift my life thousands of miles away.  Feeling frustrated and irritable, I decided to call a taxi and get to the yoga class.  Best decision ever!  I took my first ever hot yoga class and returned to the hotel with a positive mind frame and a feeling of excitement about visiting the campus. Yoga plays a really important part in my life, and it was just what I needed that day to bring me back to balance. 

I got to campus in time for the scheduled housing complex tour and after seeing the buildings and having a look at a demo suite, I knew I made the right decision.  Unlike many people I know, I have no problems living on campus.  It actually gives me a sense of security and connection that I do not think I would have off-campus.  During my undergrad years I lived in a dorm, when I got to grad school i lived in a suite on campus and now I will be living in a suite style apartment again.  I’m pretty excited about it! I got a tour of the school and felt good about my decision to accept the offer to be a student in the Fall 2014 cohort!

photo

 

I learned a few things during this campus visit:

* it’s okay to take risks sometimes.

* change is sometimes uncomfortable, but it’s constant in life.

* sometimes stepping out of your comfort zone means you have to let go of what you have always known.

* a new adventure can add nice variety to your life.

* be kind to yourself

 

~“A ship in harbor is safe, but that is not what ships are built for~John A. Shedd, Salt from My Attic (1928)” ~

John A. Shedd

Leave a Reply

