It’s Official: PhD Day 1

Classes officially kicked off on the 27th, and it sure started with a bang! It was good to meet the rest of the cohort and get familiar with each person’s research interest and goals for the next few years.

Time management is going to be so crucial.  I like to think that I do a pretty good job with managing my time, but I think I need to pay closer attention to it in order to maximize my opportunities for success.  It’s taking some time to adjust to being a student again after working as a clinician for the past four and a half years, it’s a slow but sure process.  I have been trying to figure out a schedule that would allow me ample time for studying and assignments and also allow me some free time and “me-time” to ensure that I stay balanced.  I also have a workout schedule which is not concrete, but it will at least be a guide for each day.  

One of the assignments so far is to develop a personal wellness plan and professional development plan for the academic year. There are a lot of things to consider for these plans, but in all things, I hope to make it realistic.  I like the idea of setting goals and being able to work towards them.  

At times, I get concerned that I am not doing things “good enough” and this can become frustrating.  But, being aware of that is important for me, so even though it seems like I have a lot to get done already, I am reminding myself of this quote to help me stay focused on doing my best and less focused on perfectionism.  After all, I need to be able to live during and after this doctoral program!

“I think perfectionism is based on the obsessive belief that if you run carefully enough, hitting each stepping-stone just right, you won’t have to die. The truth is that you will die anyway and that a lot of people who aren’t even looking at their feet are going to do a whole lot better than you, and have a lot more fun while they’re doing it”
― Anne Lamott, Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life

 

Leave a Reply

