A Little Motivation

I like having bits of motivational words surrounding me for several reasons.  First of all, it gives me a sense of reassurance and hope and second of all it’s just great to surround yourself with positive words.  I am attracted to words that inspire me to dig deep inside, to search for meaning in my life and maintain a sense of balance.  Words like these remind me that all is well.  It reminds me that even during the times when I struggle to feel confident or optimistic, that I am not alone.  Words can be so reassuring when used in a healthy and appropriate manner.

A few years ago, I discovered the work of Brene Browne, PhD., LMSW and since then, I have not been able to stay away from her books or her website. I have read all of her book publications and strongly recommend that you do too.  By far my favorite book is “Daring Greatly: How The Courage To Be Vulnerable Transforms the Way We Live, Love, Parent and Lead.” This book had a significant impact on me and shifted the direction of my thoughts.  She quotes an excerpt from Theodore Roosevelt’s speech “Citizens in a Republic” and that quote has been stuck in my mind and on my wall ever since I read this book in 2013.

I wanted to share this excerpt because it is one of the main sources of my motivation and my “go to” thing when I start questioning my abilities or start judging myself in an unhealthy way.  It tends to nip the negative self talk and takes me back to my defined purpose and inner source of strength.  I hope you find inspiration in these words too.

“It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better.

The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs; who comes short again and again,

because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions, who spends himself in a worthy cause;

who at his best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly…”

One thought on “A Little Motivation

Leave a Reply

