Semester Reflections: Part 2

In Part 1 of this 3-part series, I talked about a few things, from the academic perspective, that helped me get through my first semester.  In Part 2, the focus is on the social things that also helped me.

Family and Friends: I honestly don’t know what my life would be like without my family and a few close friends.  They have been so supportive and encouraging, especially when I found it difficult to encourage myself.  I also formed some good friendships with a few classmates as well and that helped to ease my anxiety a little.  Be sure you stay connected with family and friends, you may need them more than you realize.

Social Events: At the beginning of the semester, I was reminded by someone further along in the program that “life isn’t only about school” and that stuck with me.  I tried to get out, explore and try new things. Social events don’t have to be extravagant, it can be very simple.  I enjoyed going to the nearby coffees shop with classmates to eat gelato or get hot chocolate.  I hope to do more social events this new year.  It helps to give a nice balance.

Social Support: I found a nice church that I attend sometimes and also found 2 yoga studios near by.  These places give me an outlet and provides support in a different way for me.  I am hopeful that I will find more social support this year.

in Part 3, I will talk more about health/wellness.

“Socializing is more positive than being alone, that’s why meetings are so popular. People don’t like being alone. That would be, however, an important skill to learn…”
― Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi

Leave a Reply

