Semester Reflections: Part 3

This semester has been a bit more exciting than I thought it would be, so I have not been as up to date with this blog as I should.  However, I am here now, and ready to discuss the third part of this series: health/wellness.

Here are a few more things that I found helpful last semester, and plan to continue throughout my academic journey:

Quiet time: This is not the same as isolation.  Setting aside time in my day/week for quiet time helps me to re-focus and stay balanced.  I am constantly surrounded by people and whenever I can get a few moments alone, especially in nature, I enjoy it very much.  This is one of my favorite spots for quiet time.

photo 1

Yoga/Meditation: Honestly, I do not know what my life would be like if I did not have yoga and meditation time.  These things help me to really reconnect with myself and it provides a break from the constant thinking and doing.  It’s just my time to be free of responsibilities and stressors.  I find it much easier to engage in mantra meditation as I can decide on a word or phrase that I want to be mindful of throughout the day.

photo 4

Healthy eating: I have discovered how important it is to be mindful of what I eat.  I try to eat healthy, balanced meals and drink a lot of water.  I admit that there are days when all I want to do is eat ice cream and junk food, and that’s when I have to think about the long-term effects, not short-term gratification.  I do slip with my eating sometimes, but for the most part, I am attentive to what I feed my body.  In addition to healthy eating, engaging in some type of exercise is important to keep those brain cells healthy and active!

photo 3

“Problems cannot be solved by thinking within the same framework in which they were created” ~ Albert Einstein

Leave a Reply

