Moving Along

I really don’t know how I got this far into the doctoral program.  I think I may have been unconscious for part of it because it seems like year two sprung out of no where! I still remember packing, moving, and my road trip to get here as if it happened yesterday.  I guess time flies not only when you are having fun, but when you have a lot going on. I will say that I am extremely proud of making it to the second semester of my second year with all mental faculties still functioning at optimal level. Of course, there’s been the occasional anxiety attack and the what-did-I-get-myself-into-I-should-quit-now thoughts.  I mean, after all, this is a Ph.D. program, not vacation .

This semester, I will be working on a research project while writing chapter II of my dissertation.  I am preparing for a proposal defense and also comprehensive exams coming up in a few months. I’m scared, excited, hopeful and scared.  Did I mention scared? One of the things I am very grateful for is that I have a small but very strong support group cheering me along this journey.  Without these people I don’t know how I would make it.  My internal drive is strong and I am pretty much self directed and goal oriented. However, it’s an added bonus to have others encouraging you along. I’ve been thinking about how I can possibly show more gratitude to these people, especially after I cross the graduation stage.

As I move along this semester I have a few things I need to keep in mind:

  • remove the unimportant and focus on the important
  • be okay with not living a life that others understand
  • continue to make prayer/meditation/yoga a priority because it’s the foundation upon which I stand
  • continue to be open to new ideas and opportunities. Growth doesn’t happen in comfort zones
  • be authentic
  • set boundaries
  • maintain a healthy balance
  • enjoy life!

“Never confuse movement with action.”
Ernest Hemingway

2 thoughts on “Moving Along

Leave a Reply

