Planning and Organizing

There are so many assignments to complete and lots of activities to engage in while at grad school.  It’s not difficult to forget an appointment or even an assignment, and that can really set us back. Having some organizational skills is important and one way to demonstrate this skill is by keeping a schedule of activities.

I write everything in a planner.  I write appointments, assignments, reminders to drink water and take vitamins, birthdays, conferences. You get the point.  It’s not that I cannot remember these things, I don’t want to forget them. In my planner, I write in the month section and then re-write the tasks/assignments on the day as well. So I basically have two reminders: when I flip to the month and when I get to the actual day.

I also use the calendar on my phone to help me with reminders. I put appointments and activities and set reminders for the day before or maybe a week before. This is a good addition to my paper planner. On Sundays I usually sync my phone and paper planner to be sure I’m up to date.

While learning online course development last semester, I found this great app called My Study Life. This app allows you to enter information about your courses, assignments and exams. What I like most is that it color codes everything according to the courses. You can use this app on an apple or android phone and you can also use it on your computer.

This may sound like a lot, but it really works for me. You may need to only use one form of scheduling or you may need multiple (like I do). The important thing is to do whatever works best for you to increase your chances of being more productive and organized.

I’m interested in what other scheduling techniques you use. Feel free to share here!

“An idea can only become a reality once it is broken down into organized, actionable elements.”
― Scott Belsky

2 thoughts on “Planning and Organizing

  1. ingridbolanos says:

    I recently ordered a new planner from Plum Paper Designs. I can’t wait to use it. Thank you for sharing the app you use to keep track of your classes. My daughter is in college so I will definitely share with her. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

