Year 3

It’s late on Sunday night and I am wide awake. Where does this sudden burst of energy come from on a Sunday? Where was this energy earlier today? Or even earlier this weekend? Oh well…

I was thinking a lot about my third year in the doctoral program, and I can’t believe I’m that much closer to finishing! I still remember packing and making arrangements to move, and before I know it, I will be doing that again. Year 3 has definitely had its challenges and its rewards, and I’m only one semester in! This semester, I’m doing data collection for my dissertation study and I am enjoying every bit of it (weird, I know…don’t judge me. Ok fine, you can judge me :D). This semester, I’ve learned a lot more about myself (isn’t that an awesome thing? To learn more about yourself? Yes it is!). I’ve had to make tough decisions and redefine boundaries, and it’s all part of the growing process.

As I wrap up this semester, I know that I am definitely growing on a personal and professional level. I have so many things going on right now and I am very excited to see what the new year holds for me. I am reminded of how important it is to have faith: in myself and in the process. I’m also very grateful for the few people who are close to me who encourage, support and motivate me. I know I’ve made it this far because of them.

This week, I have several projects that I will be working on. I hope some of this Sunday-night-energy follows me into the week! Despite all that I have going on, I want to stay committed to my wellness. That means working out, eating well, drinking lots of water and meditating. One of the ways I am engaging in self-care is by reading a non-academic book. This week, I started reading Twelve Steps to a Compassionate Life by Karen Armstrong. I plan to read this slowly and absorb all that she has to say…

I wish you all a successful and happy week!

β€œIn the midst of a busy life don’t forget to live.”
― Marty Rubin

Leave a Reply

